JOMC 483: Magazine Design

ipadcoverHF

Spring 2012

As the iPad editor for JOMC 483: Magazine Design, I oversaw the transformation of two 84-page print magazines into iPad apps. I also contributed to the print editions of the magazines.
In this role, I taught myself several aspects of iPad design in Adobe inDesign. I also presented tutorials to the class and met one-on-one with designers to suggests ways print design could be made interactive. A large part of the job was knowing the limitations of the program and coming up with solutions to make design concepts a reality. I also added interactivity (videos, links, etc…) to advertisements at the request of the clients.

You can download the magazines here.

The position gave me valuable experience in working with a team. It also helped form my ideas  about interactivity and the best ways to design for the tablet.

I have also assisted later classes as an adviser, teaching iPad design skills and troubleshooting ideas for interactivity.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

